Gov. Reynolds issues proclamation for counties impacted by flooding


DES MOINES – Governor Kim Reynolds recently issued two proclamations including and qualifying Harrison County for flooding relief.

The first was a a disaster proclamation for Harrison, Johnson, Mills and Pottawattamie Counties in response to severe storms and flash flooding that occurred on June 21 and continuing. The governor's proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of this severe weather and activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program and Disaster Case Advocacy Program.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management website Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

The Disaster Case Advocacy Program addresses serious needs related to disaster-related hardship, injury, or adverse conditions. Disaster case advocates work with clients to create a disaster recovery plan and provide guidance, advice, and referrals to obtain a service or resource. There are no income eligibility requirements for this program; it closes 180 days from the date of the governor's proclamation. For information on the Disaster Case Advocacy Program, contact your local community action agency or visit

The governor also issued a proclamation for Buena Vista, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Floyd, Fremont, Harrison, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, Lyon, Mills, Monona, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Pottawattamie, Sioux, Webster, Winnebago, Woodbury, Worth and Wright Counties in response to widespread flooding in Iowa.

The governor's proclamation allows for the additional targeted suspension of specific regulatory requirements in affected counties to effectively respond to and recover from the effects of this event. Those suspensions are:

  • Suspend the regulatory provisions of licensed professionals who are acting on a temporary basis to aid disaster victims or provide emergency services for the following professions: architecture, engineering or land surveying, social work, psychology, marital and family therapy and mental health counseling. 

  • Suspend the regulatory provisions and administrative rules promulgated thereunder, requiring a current, active Iowa license to practice architecture and engineering to the extent that the individuals practicing architecture and engineering hereunder meet educational, experience and training requirements to obtain an Iowa license and are acting on a temporary basis to aid disaster victims or provide emergency services. 

  • Suspend the regulatory provisions requiring state electrical inspection fees be due and payable at or before commencement of the installation and requiring minimum fees when a state inspection is requested by a property owner to the extent said inspections are performed in response to and in aid of residential disaster victims.